Yahoo And WordPress: Controlling Information?


I just recieved an e-mail informing me that my post will no longer feed to Yahoo. Interesting. My couple of post relating to the Boston Marathon blast has generated hundreds of hits that came from Yahoo. I am wondering why Yahoo and apparently Word-Press has an issue with this?

Hi there,

We’re getting in touch to let you know about a change in the Sharing Settings on your WordPress.com or Jetpack-powered WordPress site.

One of your sites(The Conservative Hillbilly) was previously connected to Yahoo! Updates through the Publicize feature. Yahoo! is no longer supporting their Updates API, so we’ve disabled your connection and your posts will no longer be Publicized to Yahoo! Updates (if you’ve connected any other services, such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, or Tumblr, these will still work just as before). You don’t need to do anything, we’re just letting you know.

You can check your current Publicize connections by visiting Settings → Sharing in your Dashboard.

You can read more about Publicize in this support article.

Thanks for flying with WordPress.com!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. n0njy
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 08:56:18

    Well, well, well, the media, especially the commies want to HIDE the information again.

    Reply

  2. Maryanne
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 09:01:44

    I’m not a fan of Yahoo. I left years ago after I got hacked.

    Reply

  3. Doris
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 09:07:56

    I have notice so many weird things with the wordpress one of my post did not go to my Facebook, maybe it was what I wrote, also a friend send me this http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-22152296 so it is time to change our passwords who knows what is happening

    Reply

  4. rmactsc
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 09:18:38

    I got the same message over at my blog.

    Reply

  5. augustinehippo1
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 09:42:57

    Me too. Must be money thing.

    Reply

  6. whiteravensoars
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 12:40:43

    Actually it is because Yahoo is changing, and no longer allowing you to connect from any of your other stuff from it. In fact even the messenger no longer supports chatting with other messengers. In some ways it is a good thing… everyone connecting all their accounts, it is dangerous, it allows for people to hack them all, to steal them…

    Reply

Hand me a beer and tell me what you think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 950 other followers

