Originally posted on So Far From Heaven:

“Hey!  Congratulations man!  You picked a hill worth dying for and just got your leg shot off instead of dying.  Cool!”

“I didn’t pick it man.  I don’t know who picked it.  Maybe the General.  Maybe the Colonel.  Maybe the other side.  I din’t do any picking.  Nobody asked me anything.”

“Wow.  You got your leg shot off and didn’t even make your own choice about whether it was worth the effort?”

“Higher than my paygrade.  Not my job to figure out whether hopping around on a stump of a leg the rest of my life or spilling my guts across the landscape is worth why they think I should do it.  It’s up to the big brains to decide that.  The Generals, and Colonels and Lieutenants.  The people who see the bigger picture.  I’m not into long-term thinking.”

“Sheeze man.  Tough gig.”

Bloody Valverde.  Measured in percentage of casualties…

View original 317 more words

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bunkerville
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 08:37:45

    thanks for a post that says it all.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: In Your Dying Room | ricklee's poetry plus

Hand me a beer and tell me what you think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers

