Operation Gratitude Blog

A guest post from deployed First Lietuenant John A., who is serving in the United States Marine Corps:

As American service members continue ten more years of commitment to Afghanistan in support of Operation Enduring Freedom, wecannot help but think:

We are not alone in this fight.

I signed up for duty for a few reasons. I believe in public service, self-sacrifice, and the challenge to do something profound. I found these ideals in the Marine Corps.

What amazes me most, however, is along my adventure I’ve met people and civilian organizations that share my same vision.

Thank you so much OPERATION GRATITUDE!

I first encountered Operation Gratitude on the fallow plains of southern Afghanistan after a long, back-breaking patrol. I returned to my patrol base to find my Marines bright-eyed and full of smiles; something was amiss from our drudging normalcy. 

For the first time in months,and…

View original post 259 more words

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carl D'Agostino
    May 20, 2012 @ 17:26:13

    Hillbilly I did not want to comment on the marine’s post because of my politics. I am afraid he and his comrades are serving and being killed for oil and opium(Afg produces 70 % world supply). It is a crime that our soldiers die not for USA but to promote the interests of megabanks and megacorps and I am sure he did not want to hear that as he spoke of his commitment and honorable intentions. We wasted 60,000 in Vietnam. I will curse and hate Lyndon Johnson even beyond my death.

    Reply

    • The Conservative Hill Billy
      May 20, 2012 @ 17:40:34

      I am a “nationalist” when it comes to using our military. Your points, and they are valid, are not directed at our service men and women, but rather those mega banks,mega corps, and people who are trying to promote a political agenda. We have so much energy here, we don’t need to be getting it from anywhere else. And you are right about the opium too.

      Reply

Hand me a beer and tell me what you think

