13yrs A.D.


Dad,Me , Mom, and Uncle John Dean circa 1991

Dad,Me , Mom, and Uncle John Dean circa 1991

It is unfathomable that my dad past 13 years ago this May 7th. The A.D. stands for After Dad! Up until May 7th, of 1997, I never spent more than two weeks apart from dad. I have written much about him over the years, and I have come to realize I write these stories for an audience of one: me. There ain’t a single day, or hour that passes that I don’t think about him.

I realize that on May 7th, 1997 that I lost more than Dad, I lost the ability to create new memories, and stories with him. At some point, I just might run out of material. Thing is, like with the James Bond movies, I can watch them over and over and enjoy them just as much as the first time I ever viewed them. Same with the memories.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carl D'Agostino
    May 06, 2013 @ 15:38:50

    Believe me, you did not write for an audience of one.

    Reply

  2. The Conservative Hill Billy
    May 06, 2013 @ 15:45:58

    Thanks Carl. I really feel sorry for boys who never had a dad, or had a bad one. This world needs more good dads. 🙂

    Reply

  3. J.G.Lord
    May 06, 2013 @ 20:22:07

    God Bless..

    Reply

  4. TeachX3
    May 06, 2013 @ 20:56:39

    My heart breaks for your loss… thirteen years or yesterday, I’m sorry for the loss of your Dad. God bless you HB.

    Reply

  5. 68ghia
    May 07, 2013 @ 00:14:15

    I still have my dad’s number on my phone. Still wear his PJ’s and have plants in the pots I got from him. Still use his tools, sit on his chair every day.
    He might not be with me anymore, but he’s in my heart every time I hear Glen Miller or Aida, every time a memory flits across my mind.
    I’m sure it’s the same for you J..

    Reply

  6. The Conservative Hill Billy
    May 07, 2013 @ 08:14:32

    Thanks everybody for the nice words. I remember when I was in college, I had a part time job where one of my co-workers were in her 80’s. She talked about how she still missed her dad, and had a tough time on his b-day every year. He had been gone for 40 plus years. I know what she meant now.

    Reply

  7. mickdolan
    May 07, 2013 @ 08:37:39

    I miss the conversations I had with my dad the most. I lost him in Nov of 1997 and I still miss him everyday. I just lost my mom in March but at least they are together now. This year both Mother’s Day and Father’s Day will be a bit lonelier.

    Reply

  8. The Conservative Hill Billy
    May 07, 2013 @ 08:43:38

    Mick, this is why I love being a Christian: Knowing that the family memebrs that pass, will someday be seen again:)

    Reply

  9. Nancy Loderick
    May 07, 2013 @ 09:47:41

    Thanks for such a heat warming post. This post really struck me. I lost my Dad 10 years ago and not a day goes by that I don’t think of him. I finally(!) am able to think about him without crying.

    Sounds like you were a great son. I hope your happy memories of him bring you some comfort.

    God bless you.

    Nancy

    Reply

  10. The Conservative Hill Billy
    May 07, 2013 @ 10:24:18

    Hi Nancy, memories are certainly a blessing from God. Kinda a Photo-Bucket for my Brain-Bucket:)

    Reply

  11. the unit
    May 07, 2013 @ 10:58:32

    I woke up this morning and read this. Brought tears at 5 a.m. My condolences to yer. My dad passed 6/9/97. My oldest son 10/24/92 @ 19. What a Halloween that was! Then mom in 2006 after her home and all, pictures of her mom and dad, and all baby pictures of my brother…and yea Unit was washed away with Katrina.
    I hope you don’t take this in a way I don’t mean…but…our loved ones want us on top.

    Reply

  12. The Conservative Hill Billy
    May 07, 2013 @ 11:11:03

    I hear ya Unit 🙂 Time stops for none of us!

    Reply

  13. Grumpa Joe
    May 07, 2013 @ 13:17:04

    What is it about our Dad’s that keeps them so alive in our memories? I too recall stories galore, and my older brother remembers even more. There are times we play “can you top this” with Dad stories.
    Thanks for sharing your personal insights.

    Reply

    • mickdolan
      May 07, 2013 @ 13:31:19

      I have been a broadcaster for more than 40 years but my dad used to ask me, “So when are ya gonna get a real job?”
      Dad spent 40 years at the same insurance company, was a simple and honest man who cared about God and family first. I couldn’t have asked for a better childhood thanks to my parents’ love and guidance. There was not one person who had anything bad to say about my dad and that’s tough to live up to!

      Reply

  14. Pat Bean
    May 08, 2013 @ 10:18:44

    Thanks for the follow

    Reply

Hand me a beer and tell me what you think

