A Man Is Only As Good As His Word

Yeah, I know this sounds pretty antiquated, but in my book it still rings true and it has been used a million times in classic western pics. What also sticks in my craw is when somebody wears their faith on their sleeve, but when the rubber hits the road, they toss it out the window. Case in point. Somebody who I considered a good friend, and brother in Christ, failed to follow through on a promise. A really big one to boot. I would have had more respect if they would have just said I am not going to honor my word. Ok, got it, have a nice life see you never. Instead I get the stuff from the business end of the cow tossed at me. The good old “I never said that” song and dance. Then, after a good verbal joust, I get the like nothing never happened routine. You know, “How’s the weather” line. Now it is no longer about the material object in question, it is about the disappointment in an unChristian act, by a good friend. I just said,” You made the promise under God’s Eyes.” And walked away. I will ask one more time for the promise to be kept. No biggie if it ain’t, because the pain of seeing some one stray from their professed beliefs is what really is at issue.