Beer Shoes

While Beer Goggles grab all the fame and glory, Beer Shoes is the foundation of any professional beer drinker. Beer Shoes, from here on will be addressed as BS, does all the heavy lifting. They are the pair that gets you to the place beer is sold. Without BS, the fridge would not be stocked, and the ice chest would be for ever lonely.

My BS travel with me where ever I go. They relax in my golf bag during a round, resting up for the 19th hole. Were they gladly appear, replacing the heavy, and some time odorous golf shoes. To sit happily upon my flippers, watching me smoothly consume my frosty beverage buddies, one by one.

They also wait patiently in the trunk, while their owner works his digits to bone. When the light fills the trunk, and they are called into action, they don’t miss a beat. BS have dangers that lurk: gravel, dung, dirt, and the always terminal broken strap. The old saying “Don’t knock a fella til you walk a mile in his shoes” is a good one, but “Never forget the importance of BS” is great!

Robert E. Lee . American Experience . WGBH | PBS

Robert E. Lee . American Experience . WGBH | PBS.